This has been resolved.
Please do not take it upon yourselves to contact these people. If you are upset about this and would like to discuss it, please do so in the correct forum: here. I am a professional and I do not condone threats or harassment.
So, I knew that I had something great when I made the new Camp Creative Group design. I had FINALLY come up with something that I was happy with, after so much time coming up with designs that I was just NOT happy with. The best was just seeing it all come together with the gorgeous copy, which was written by the brilliant Nicole VanBuren.
When I submitted it to galleries, and when it got picked up by several galleries and design publications, the excitement of exposure overpowered my worries of anything else.
It wasn’t until yesterday, while having a discussion with a fellow designer, that I checked copyscape.com and found several websites using not only my content, but my design and programming as well.
After issuing a Cease&Desist (and a few of them just a friendly slap on the wrist), most of them took the offending content down. However, the worst offender has yet to respond to myself or my programmer. Apparently, a client of my programmer contacted them as well, and they responded to him telling him that they made the site first. I would like to see them try to prove it.
I guess they’ve never heard of Photoshop’s ability to embed a file creation date. I have a Photoshop file that was created on March 26th, and I’m sure they can’t beat that being that I KNOW who designed MY site and when. Not to mention all of the people who have emails from me sharing the progression of my design. Also, as you’ll see in the screenshots, it’s pretty shameless. They even have the Camp Creative Group flower mark still in the background of the site.

And, yes, they couldn’t even get the color correct for that background. It’s a shame. Don’t you love the clashing header colors? Ugh, you can just tell they have no clue what they are doing. It’s bad enough you STOLE our design, but did you really have to BUTCHER it as well?!
Every bit of the design, even down to the footer. They changed SOME of the copy, although not much. At least they were smart enough to take out our testimonials.
They even took our portfolio, which poor Josh hand coded to work exactly how I wanted it to work. Lovely. I wonder how many other of their “designs” are other designers’ work. Oh, and I just love that they refer to themselves as “GM.com” – they do realize that is a website for another company, don’t they? And as you can see in the above screen shot, they weren’t very consistent with their font for the top banner (I’m assuming they didn’t have Futura, which was the font that is used on the front page).
No, it definitely didn’t stop with the website content and design. They also downloaded our questionnaire and switched out the logo and info for themselves. It’s hilarious because I just had a guy the other day ask me if he could use my questionnaire and I said “of course!” because – why not – and also, I was so pleased that he had actually ASKED. So this, to me, is just amazing.
Shame? They obviously don’t know the meaning of the word. Next to a picture of he and his wife was a biography of myself.
Of course, I understand taking someone’s site and saving it to your computer to learn from it: How they did the programming for something or how they did the design, trying to rebuild it as a learning experience, etc. But this wasn’t the case here. This wasn’t just bits and pieces. This was the entire site, including my content and design. And it was pretty blatant.
I guess when we came up with “Fall in love with your design.” we didn’t think that people would fall that in love with everything about our design and make it their own.